It’s Not You, It’s Me

03 dump 128915It’s not you, it’s me.

No, that’s too clichéd.

You’re a lovely person but…

Can’t do that either.

OK, pull yourself together. Three years isn’t that long. She won’t go too mad, will she?

Of course she will, what are you thinking?

Oh God, she’ll be here soon. Why didn’t I say twelve-thirty? Suppose I should have gone to her instead of her coming here then I could have done a runner.

There’ll be tears of course and I’ll never get rid of her. Suppose I could have done it by letter but then she’d have come over anyway… or by text. No, that’s the coward’s way. I’ll come straight out with it. Best to do it quickly. Like a plaster, rip it off in one go and the pain subsides quicker.

Of course she’ll say she needs me, can’t do without me. Heard it before. You’d think I’d be an expert by now; not being my first. She was the best though. Even I’d admit that. Hard decision but has to be done. Things just aren’t working out. I suppose if I hadn’t lost my job we could have carried on but things change, don’t they? No point burying your head in the sand. OK. I’ll do it then and…

Oh God, she’s here.

Hello. Oh, I love your jacket. Cup of…

Listen, there’s something I have to say. Please sit down. Anywhere.

Look, I’m really sorry but there’s no other way to put this but I’m going to have to…

I’m going to have to let you go Mrs Jones. I’m sorry but it’s economics – I’m going to have to clean my own house from now on.

***

Picture above courtesy of morguefile.com.

** NEW!! You can now subscribe to the mixed blog on your Kindle / Kindle app!

See http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B008E88JN0

or http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B008E88JN0 for outside the UK **

You can sign up to receive these blog posts daily or weekly so you don’t miss anything. You can contact me and find me on the internetview my Books (including my debut novel, which is being serialised on Novel Nights In!) and I also have a blog creation / maintenance service especially for, but not limited to, writers. If you like this blog, you can help me keep it running by donating and choose an optional free eBook.

For writers / readers willing to give feedback and / or writers wanting feedback, take a look at this blog’s Feedback page.

As I post an interview a day (amongst other things) I can’t unfortunately review books but I have a list of those who do. If there’s anything you’d like to take part in, take a look at Opportunities on this blog.

I welcome items for critique for the online writing groups listed below:

Morgen’s Online Non-Fiction Writing Group

Morgen’s Online Novel Writing Group

Morgen’s Online Poetry Writing Group

Morgen’s Online Script Writing Group

Morgen’s Online Short Story Writing Group

We look forward to reading your comments.

