Not a very grand job

197 bull 218648“Would you like to try some of our new stewed steak, sir?”

“Doesn’t look like steak.”

“I can assure you it is sir. Here, I have the tin.”

“It’s dog food.”

“We don’t sell dog food, sir. As you can see it says-”

“It would say that.”

“And we only sell quality-”

“Does this look like quality?”

“It looks… erm… very nice, sir.”

“Is that fork clean?”

“Yes, sir. New fork for every customer.”

“Is it metal?”

“No, sir. It’s wooden.”

“Wooden? Like fish and chips wooden fork?”

“Yes, sir. Exactly like that.”

“I don’t like fish and chips.”

“That’s a shame sir, they’re very popular in our restaurant.”

“You have a restaurant here?”

“We do sir, just by the cashiers.”

“The checkouts?”

“Yes… the erm, checkouts.”

“I thought that was a café.”

“Some might say so, yes. Now, would sir like to try-?”

“I’ve never trusted those wooden spoons. Don’t want splinters in my gob, do I?”

“Gob, sir? Oh. No, I don’t suppose you would.”

“Not a very grand job is it?”

“What’s that, sir?”

“Dishing out pieces of stewed steak to any Tom, Dick or Harvey what walks by.”

“I think you’ll find it’s Harry.”

“Who’s Harry?”

“Tom, Dick or… never mind. Stewed steak?”

“What about it?”

“Would you like some?”

“Sir…”

“Would you like some, sir.”

“Not with a wooden fork. I might splinter me-”

“Yes, of course. I shall ask one of my colleagues to see if they can find you a plastic one, how about that?”

“Not a metal one?”

“Unlikely… sir.”

“I suppose it’ll do.”

“Ah, Joyce. Would you mind seeing if you can obtain a plastic fork for this gentleman to try some of this… thank you. That’s ever so kind. Now, sir, whilst my colleague-”

“She has a name.”

“Yes, of course. Whilst Joyce fetches you a fork, would you like to continue your shopping and-”

“No, it’s OK. Nothing else to do.”

“Really, sir?”

“Yeah. The wife’s doing all the shopping. I only come for the caff but she’s taking her time today. Does stop and talk to anyone, she does. Can’t help it.”

“The caff?”

“Café. Restaurant. You know, by the tills.”

“The checkout. Cashiers. Yes, I do know. Ah, here’s Joyce. Thank you, Joyce. Very kind. Now, let me find a nice bit of steak for you.”

“No thanks.”

“No, sir?”

“Yeah. Don’t want any of that muck.”

“I assure you it’s-”

“High quality. Yeah, you said.”

“There’s no charge, sir. It’s a free sample.”

“Nah.”

“May I ask why?”

“Sure you can ask.”

“Then… why sir when you asked Joyce-”

“I didn’t ask Joyce. You asked Joyce.”

“That is true. I did ask Joyce.  Then why sir, when I asked Joyce-”

“Don’t want none.”

“’Any’, I believe you meant to say. I don’t quite understand why you changed your mind.”

“Didn’t never say I wanted any.”

“Oh, but… but why-”

“Coz I’m a vegetarian, that’s why. Derr…”

***

Picture above courtesy of morguefile.com.

** NEW!! You can now subscribe to the mixed blog on your Kindle / Kindle app!

See http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B008E88JN0

or http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B008E88JN0 for outside the UK **

You can sign up to receive these blog posts daily or weekly so you don’t miss anything. You can contact me and find me on the internetview my Books (including my debut novel, which is being serialised on Novel Nights In!) and I also have a blog creation / maintenance service especially for, but not limited to, writers. If you like this blog, you can help me keep it running by donating and choose an optional free eBook.

For writers / readers willing to give feedback and / or writers wanting feedback, take a look at this blog’s Feedback page.

As I post an interview a day (amongst other things) I can’t unfortunately review books but I have a list of those who do. If there’s anything you’d like to take part in, take a look at Opportunities on this blog.

I welcome items for critique for the online writing groups listed below:

Morgen’s Online Non-Fiction Writing Group

Morgen’s Online Novel Writing Group

Morgen’s Online Poetry Writing Group

Morgen’s Online Script Writing Group

Morgen’s Online Short Story Writing Group

We look forward to reading your comments.

