Boston, Lincolnshire or Massachusetts

“Hello?”

“Sophia?”

“Can’t talk right now.”

“Too busy and important?”

“What? No. Sarah, don’t be like that.”

“Because you’re a model-”

“It’s not… like that. I’m in the middle of a shoot and I shouldn’t even have-”

“Then you should have switched it off.”

“Can I phone you later?”

“Where are you?”

“Boston.”

“You’re back in the UK?”

“Erm. No. Not er… not Lincolnshire. Massachusetts. The USA.”

“I know where Massachusetts is.”

“The photographer’s assistant’s waving at me. I’m going to have to-”

“What are you wearing?”

“Sorry?”

190 swimwear model 12165“Wearing. Modelling.”

“Swimwear.”

“Swimwear? But there’s no beach in Boston… don’t laugh!”

“I’m really going to have to go. Say ‘hi’ to m-”

“Is Dan with you?”

“No.”

“He’s a swimwear model, isn’t he?”

“He is, but not on this job.”

“Why not? I thought you went everywhere together. Joined at the hip.”

“We… we… it’s for a catalogue. He doesn’t do catalogue work.”

“What was that?”

“What?”

“That noise in the background. Like an announcement.”

“We’re erm… shooting in an airport.”

“Swimwear in an airport?”

“Duty Free. For a swimwear shop in Duty Free.”

“Which airport?”

“Boston. I told you.”

“But the announcement was in English.”

“Of course it was. Americans speak English.”

“No. I mean with an English accent. You’re in England.”

“OK. Yes. I’m in England.”

“Not Boston.”

“No. Not Boston.”

“Not Lincolnshire.”

“No, not Lincolnshire. “Hang on, Sarah…”

“Sophia? Sophia!”

“I’m going to have to go.”

“Why was someone asking you about travel sickness pills?”

“What?”

“Why was that man asking-?”

“Because I’m in Boots! OK? The agency let me go, and the only job I could get was working behind the counter of Luton Airport’s Boots. Not even Duty Free but the first one, near the check-in desks.”

“You’re back in Luton? Why didn’t you-?”

“Happy now?”

“What?”

“Are you happy now, Sarah? How the mighty Sophia has fallen?”

“Why would I be happy about that?”

“No, sir! I don’t know which ones you should buy. I’ve travelled to every corner of the globe. Never got travel sick. Air sick. Boat sick or train sick. Be like that then…”

***

Picture above courtesy of morguefile.com.

** NEW!! You can now subscribe to the mixed blog on your Kindle / Kindle app!

See http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B008E88JN0

or http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B008E88JN0 for outside the UK **

You can sign up to receive these blog posts daily or weekly so you don’t miss anything. You can contact me and find me on the internetview my Books (including my debut novel, which is being serialised on Novel Nights In!) and I also have a blog creation / maintenance service especially for, but not limited to, writers. If you like this blog, you can help me keep it running by donating and choose an optional free eBook.

For writers / readers willing to give feedback and / or writers wanting feedback, take a look at this blog’s Feedback page.

As I post an interview a day (amongst other things) I can’t unfortunately review books but I have a list of those who do. If there’s anything you’d like to take part in, take a look at Opportunities on this blog.

I welcome items for critique for the online writing groups listed below:

Morgen’s Online Non-Fiction Writing Group

Morgen’s Online Novel Writing Group

Morgen’s Online Poetry Writing Group

Morgen’s Online Script Writing Group

Morgen’s Online Short Story Writing Group

We look forward to reading your comments.

