Cobblers

“Giles!”

“No.”

“Yes, Giles! We went to school together.”

“You’ve got the wrong person.”

“It was a long time ago… No, I know it’s you.”

“I don’t know who you are but I’m just here to have a quiet drink after a long shift.”

“So I see. Nice uniform. I don’t recognise… Which airline?”

“Sahjan.”

“Who?”

“Sah-jan. Small. Indian.”

“You’re not Indian.”

“I know. I just work for them. I’m on a stop-over. Not that it’s any of your-”

“You’ve done well then, Giles.”

“I’ve told you I’m not Giles. Now, please just go and-”

183 shoe 112382“OK. OK. Hey, you’re only wearing one shoe.”

“I know?”

“Why?”

“Sorry?”

“Why are you only wearing one shoe?”

“The heel came off the other one. It’s at the cobblers in Duty Free. Now, please just leave… me… alone.”

“You were like this at school too.”

“I told you-”

“You’re his twin then, although I don’t recall him having a twin. You’re the right age. A little darker skinned but that would make sense given you’re now Indian.”

“I’m not Indian! I told you I just work… Barman, please can you ask this chap to leave me alone.”

“It’s OK. I’ll go. Sorry I’m sure. I’m right though. I know I’m right.”

“You’re not, Frank.”

“So you say. Hey! I never told you my name. It is you!”

“It’s on your name badge.”

“Oh. Yes.”

“Shoe salesman. How ironic.”

***

Picture above courtesy of morguefile.com.

** NEW!! You can now subscribe to the mixed blog on your Kindle / Kindle app!

See http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B008E88JN0

or http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B008E88JN0 for outside the UK **

You can sign up to receive these blog posts daily or weekly so you don’t miss anything. You can contact me and find me on the internetview my Books (including my debut novel, which is being serialised on Novel Nights In!) and I also have a blog creation / maintenance service especially for, but not limited to, writers. If you like this blog, you can help me keep it running by donating and choose an optional free eBook.

For writers / readers willing to give feedback and / or writers wanting feedback, take a look at this blog’s Feedback page.

As I post an interview a day (amongst other things) I can’t unfortunately review books but I have a list of those who do. If there’s anything you’d like to take part in, take a look at Opportunities on this blog.

I welcome items for critique for the online writing groups listed below:

Morgen’s Online Non-Fiction Writing Group

Morgen’s Online Novel Writing Group

Morgen’s Online Poetry Writing Group

Morgen’s Online Script Writing Group

Morgen’s Online Short Story Writing Group

We look forward to reading your comments.

