Like Mother Like Son

161 coins 700211We don’t blame them, we’re going to do the same.

Who wouldn’t take something if it was offered on a plate – no way of being caught… the perfect crime.

Of course, knowing it was already stolen helped. They wouldn’t run to the police when they realised it was missing, now would they?

They say some unfortunates were in the wrong place at the wrong time but for me it couldn’t have been better; walking the dog, I was.

Has its uses, see allsorts, though not usually a robbery, and not by someone you know, have known since they were five.

Little Johnny Talbot. Not the brightest of boys, clearly, didn’t wear a balaclava, but the brightest of blue eyes. Never seen any so blue before him, nor since, and the mole under his left eye, fashionable like Cindy Crawford’s.

Could have been a model… little Johnny, and said that to his mum. Poor Marion. What did she do to deserve that? Heard she’s in a home. So I suppose Johnny had to sell hers to pay for it, but it was a nice house, he didn’t have to…

People get themselves in situations like that through no fault of their own. I’ve had many a sticky point since Frank… weak heart, had done since he was a child. Miracle really that he lasted as long as he did. Way to go too; go to bed one night… very peaceful. But he was the breadwinner – old-fashioned like that. Frank Senior.

Oh yes, I said “we” didn’t I. My boy, Frank Junior. He’ll know what to do. Always was a clever boy.

***

Picture above courtesy of morguefile.com. The prompt today was to write a monologue using the last line of a novel as my first line. I picked SJ Bolton’s ‘Sacrifice’.

** NEW!! You can now subscribe to the mixed blog on your Kindle / Kindle app!

See http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B008E88JN0

or http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B008E88JN0 for outside the UK **

You can sign up to receive these blog posts daily or weekly so you don’t miss anything. You can contact me and find me on the internetview my Books (including my debut novel, which is being serialised on Novel Nights In!) and I also have a blog creation / maintenance service especially for, but not limited to, writers. If you like this blog, you can help me keep it running by donating and choose an optional free eBook.

For writers / readers willing to give feedback and / or writers wanting feedback, take a look at this blog’s Feedback page.

As I post an interview a day (amongst other things) I can’t unfortunately review books but I have a list of those who do. If there’s anything you’d like to take part in, take a look at Opportunities on this blog.

I welcome items for critique for the online writing groups listed below:

Morgen’s Online Non-Fiction Writing Group

Morgen’s Online Novel Writing Group

Morgen’s Online Poetry Writing Group

Morgen’s Online Script Writing Group

Morgen’s Online Short Story Writing Group

We look forward to reading your comments.

