It too hides my features

159 old train 608104Peeking under the brim of my hat, I can see her walking away, holding her case, stepping onto the train. I follow at a distance, knowing I have time before the whistle blows, the steam rises and all the doors are shut.

I tug at the gun in my pocket, checking the safety, biding its time.

She pulls back as a cabin door opens and a young woman giggles out, followed by a sailor removing his hat. He slaps the woman’s bottom, and she squeals and runs to the dining car, the sailor picking up the pace.

The lady I’m following starts to turn so I do likewise, only quicker so I know she’ll see me look out the window, my hat obscuring my face. I blow smoke at the glass and it too hides my features.

Her suitcase bumps against the final compartment door which she pulls open and launches the case inside.

I hear a short exchange of words and know my job’s been made harder. I edge down the corridor and turn once more to the window as the young couple return, her with two glasses, him with champagne, the giggles promising to increase with every sip.

Their door slams and I hear the bottle’s cork explode to a cheer and a squeal. I move closer to the end of the carriage where I can hear diners chatting.

I drop one hand to the door handle, while the other grips the gun.

***

Picture above courtesy of morguefile.com.

** NEW!! You can now subscribe to the mixed blog on your Kindle / Kindle app!

See http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B008E88JN0

or http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B008E88JN0 for outside the UK **

You can sign up to receive these blog posts daily or weekly so you don’t miss anything. You can contact me and find me on the internetview my Books (including my debut novel, which is being serialised on Novel Nights In!) and I also have a blog creation / maintenance service especially for, but not limited to, writers. If you like this blog, you can help me keep it running by donating and choose an optional free eBook.

For writers / readers willing to give feedback and / or writers wanting feedback, take a look at this blog’s Feedback page.

As I post an interview a day (amongst other things) I can’t unfortunately review books but I have a list of those who do. If there’s anything you’d like to take part in, take a look at Opportunities on this blog.

I welcome items for critique for the online writing groups listed below:

Morgen’s Online Non-Fiction Writing Group

Morgen’s Online Novel Writing Group

Morgen’s Online Poetry Writing Group

Morgen’s Online Script Writing Group

Morgen’s Online Short Story Writing Group

We look forward to reading your comments.

