OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAPhyllis always likes to look smart. Brought up by strict Jamaican parents, they’d instilled in her that pride cost nothing, but made you feel like a million dollars; which since the family moved to England only equated to £700 but she didn’t care.

They’d despaired at her lack of aspiration; settling (in their words) to marry a salesman.

They hadn’t lived to see what the couple would make of their lives, but Phyllis still thinks of them fondly as she stands in front of the full-length mirror wearing the new outfit she’s chosen for the weekly shopping trip; to the shop which bears a royal crest, that delivers her Christmas hamper, and is situated between her favourite afternoon tea treat and Ernest’s tailors.

So, as she stands there, and places the matching hat on top of her neatly coiffured curls, she smiles, looks up to the ceiling and says “and you said it couldn’t be done”.

***

This story was taken from my Story A Day May 2011 collection. Photograph above courtesy of morguefile.com.

You can sign up to receive these blog posts daily or weekly so you don’t miss anything. You can contact me and find me on the internetview my Books (including my debut novel, which is being serialised on Novel Nights In!) and I also have a blog creation / maintenance service especially for, but not limited to, writers. If you like this blog, you can help me keep it running by donating and choose an optional free eBook.

For writers / readers willing to give feedback and / or writers wanting feedback, take a look at this blog’s Feedback page.

As I post an interview a day (amongst other things) I can’t unfortunately review books but I have a list of those who do. I welcome items for critique for the online writing groups listed below:

Morgen’s Online Non-Fiction Writing Group

Morgen’s Online Novel Writing Group

Morgen’s Online Poetry Writing Group

Morgen’s Online Script Writing Group

Morgen’s Online Short Story Writing Group

We look forward to reading your comments.

