SONY DSC“What do you want to do when you grow up, Amelia?” Samuel Earhart asked his daughter.

“I want to fly.”

“No, I mean as a career… a job… something you get paid for, honey.”

“Yes Pop, I wanna fly.”

“Women don’t fly, dear. People don’t fly.”

“Some do, son,” Amelia’s grandfather corrected. “There’s a man in Australia, Lawrence Hargrave, who’s been flying a box-kite glider for a few years now. And only last year, no, the year before, 1901, a man… now what was his name… a German… Gustave something, here in the US. Fairfax it was, Connecticut, I remember now, Gustave Whitehead. It made me laugh, his name, because of my white hair. I read somewhere that he’d made a powered flight. But I’m not sure. They say there are some brothers… two, I think, in… Indiana, who are doing the same thing. I think they’re gonna be quite successful. Like you, Amelia. You can do whatever you want to do.”

“Do you really think so, Grandpa?”

“Of course, dear. Put your mind to it and the world is… yours for the taking.”

“Really?” Amelia asked, wide-eyed.

“Sure. Why not?”

“Have you been outside of Kansas, Grandpa?”

“I have, Amelia,” her grandfather said enthusiastically.

“I’ll leave you two to it,” Amelia’s father said, getting out of his chair and leaving the room.

Oblivious, Amelia stared into her grandfather’s eyes. “Tell me where.”

“Ooh, all over, sugar.”

“Where, Grandpa?”

“Colorado, Nebraska, Wyoming… even been to California once.”

The smile disappeared from the little girl’s face. “Only America?”

“Oh no,” her grandfather beamed. “I’ve been everywhere.”

Amelia leaned forward and whispered, “You have?”

Her grandfather nodded seriously. “I have Amelia, everywhere.”

Amelia gasped.

The old man tapped his temple. “In here, Amelia, you can go anywhere your imagination will take you. You dream big, Amelia, and there’ll be nothing stopping you.”

Amelia giggled, clapped her hands then leaned forward to kiss her grandfather’s left cheek, making the old man blush.

***

This story was taken from my Story A Day May 2011 collection. Photograph above courtesy of morguefile.com.

You can sign up to receive these blog posts daily or weekly so you don’t miss anything. You can contact me and find me on the internetview my Books (including my debut novel, which is being serialised on Novel Nights In!) and I also have a blog creation / maintenance service especially for, but not limited to, writers. If you like this blog, you can help me keep it running by donating and choose an optional free eBook.

For writers / readers willing to give feedback and / or writers wanting feedback, take a look at this blog’s Feedback page.

As I post an interview a day (amongst other things) I can’t unfortunately review books but I have a list of those who do. I welcome items for critique for the online writing groups listed below:

Morgen’s Online Non-Fiction Writing Group

Morgen’s Online Novel Writing Group

Morgen’s Online Poetry Writing Group

Morgen’s Online Script Writing Group

Morgen’s Online Short Story Writing Group

We look forward to reading your comments.

