He’ll know what to do

They all warn me it’s my fortune he’s after but I won’t listen. He loves me, really he does. Besides, it’s mine to do with as I wish and with him being older than me… almost twice my age… he’ll know what to do with it.

He was my dad’s Bank Manager so he’s going to be good with money, isn’t he? Says he has some investments in mind but they’ll tie up my money for a few years, but that’s fine. What do I need it for? The house is all paid for, I have everything I need already. It’s not how I want it yet, it was mum’s taste, not mine, but Teddy likes it, so… Teddy’s my fiancé by the way, Edward Thomas. Doesn’t like me calling him Teddy so I don’t when he can hear me but it’s better than Edward or Eddie. Eddie’s common, like a binman and Edward is too stiff, but then he is a banker, takes things too seriously sometimes, has a sort of worried look but it’ll be alright once we get married.

Everything will be ok once the kids come along. Teddy says he doesn’t want any but I know he’ll change his mind. Besides the house is too big for just the two of us, and what am I going to do all day? But then I’m not going to look after them, we’ll get a nanny to do that, an old one like Mary Poppins or better still that Nanny McFee. Don’t want Eddie getting to like her too much.

He should be home shortly, says he’s going to take me out to dinner, got something important to tell me. I can’t wait! I hope it’s French, haven’t had snails in ages.

***

Photography courtesy of morguefile.com.

You can sign up to receive these blog posts daily or weekly so you don’t miss anything. You can contact me and find me on the internetview my Books (including my debut novel!) and I also have a blog creation / maintenance service especially for, but not limited to, writers. If you like this blog, you can help me keep it running by donating and choose an optional free eBook.

For writers / readers willing to give feedback and / or writers wanting feedback, take a look at this blog’s Feedback page.

As I post an interview a day (amongst other things) I can’t unfortunately review books but I have a list of those who do, and a feature called ‘Short Story Saturdays’ where I review stories of up to 2,500 words. Alternatively if you have a short story or self-contained novel extract / short chapter (ideally up to 1000 words) that you’d like critiqued and don’t mind me posting it online in my new Red Pen Critique Sunday night posts, then do email me. I am now also looking for flash fiction (<1000 words) for Flash Fiction Fridays and poetry for Post-weekend Poetry.

