Do his best

Norman worries that he’s not clever enough to pass the test, that his mind will go blank when he turns over the exam paper, wade through the layers of sheets until he’s finished or the buzzer goes.

Jean will tell him repeatedly until it’s time to go, that he’ll be fine, but until he gets the call or the letter comes he won’t relax. He’ll pace the hall waiting for the phone or the postman, he doesn’t yet know which it’ll be.

The car will wait in the driveway until he knows. If he fails he’ll try again but at 72 he doesn’t want to wait. He wishes he’d taken his test years ago, before the written exam but he’s read all the books, watched Jean do all the manoeuvres, then paid more attention when her eyesight started to fail, before the trouble with her toes, he’d notice her wince when she accelerated. So he’ll smile at the examiner, turn over the page and do his best.

***

Photography courtesy of morguefile.com.

You can sign up to receive these blog posts daily or weekly so you don’t miss anything. You can contact me and find me on the internetview my Books (including my debut novel!) and I also have a blog creation / maintenance service especially for, but not limited to, writers. If you like this blog, you can help me keep it running by donating and choose an optional free eBook.

For writers / readers willing to give feedback and / or writers wanting feedback, take a look at this blog’s Feedback page.

As I post an interview a day (amongst other things) I can’t unfortunately review books but I have a list of those who do, and a feature called ‘Short Story Saturdays’ where I review stories of up to 2,500 words. Alternatively if you have a short story or self-contained novel extract / short chapter (ideally up to 1000 words) that you’d like critiqued and don’t mind me posting it online in my new Red Pen Critique Sunday night posts, then do email me. I am now also looking for flash fiction (<1000 words) for Flash Fiction Fridays and poetry for Post-weekend Poetry.

