Thud on the floor

“Lifting up the flap, I knew there was no way I was going to get the newspaper through.”

“So what did you do?”

“I took the middle section out.”

“Of the letterbox?”

“What? No, don’t be silly. The newspaper. Wednesday’s property day. Most people throw that bit away anyway. I was tempted but they pay for the whole thing, don’t they, although it would make my life easier. Monday’s my favourite, thinnest of the week. Not much sport on in the winter, so nothing to report.”

“So you took the paper apart and posted both bits through.”

“I tried but made the mistake of putting the property bit through first and it got stuck. Stupid letter boxes on these new houses, they’re so hard they rip the paper to shreds, so I have to be extra careful. It takes ages round the new estate but Mr Jeffreys swapped my route with Billy-”

“So you’d put the property section through. What happened then?”

“I tried to, like I said, but it got stuck. Wasn’t sure whether to push or pull.”

“And…”

“I pushed. Didn’t want it back, did I? Went through eventually and didn’t half make a thud on the floor. Most people have mats so you don’t notice but I noticed that thud.”

“And you looked through the letterbox.”

“Yeah. Don’t know why now but something caught my eye, I suppose.”

“Describe what you saw.”

“A body.”

“Mrs Thompson.”

“Yeah, only I didn’t know that’s who she was. I only have numbers on them, not names.”

“And where was she lying?”

“There.”

“By the foot of the stairs.”

“Away a bit, sort of between the stairs and the radiator. All twisted like, like she’d fallen down the stairs but…”

“Go on.”

“But it didn’t look natural. Too much blood. You break things, bones, when you fall down the stairs, you don’t bleed.”

“You know a lot about-”

“CSI. I watch them all, but don’t tell mum will you or she’ll go mental.”

***

Photography courtesy of morguefile.com.

You can sign up to receive these blog posts daily or weekly so you don’t miss anything. You can contact me and find me on the internetview my Books (including my debut novel!) and I also have a blog creation / maintenance service especially for, but not limited to, writers. If you like this blog, you can help me keep it running by donating and choose an optional free eBook.

For writers / readers willing to give feedback and / or writers wanting feedback, take a look at this blog’s Feedback page.

As I post an interview a day (amongst other things) I can’t unfortunately review books but I have a list of those who do, and a feature called ‘Short Story Saturdays’ where I review stories of up to 2,500 words. Alternatively if you have a short story or self-contained novel extract / short chapter (ideally up to 1000 words) that you’d like critiqued and don’t mind me posting it online in my new Red Pen Critique Sunday night posts, then do email me. I am now also looking for flash fiction (<1000 words) for Flash Fiction Fridays and poetry for Post-weekend Poetry.

