A figure to die for

“In or out?”

“Eh?”

“Are you coming in or going out?”

“Neither.”

“Then why are you standing there?”

“’cause I’m waiting for someone. Not that it’s any of your business.”

“I was only trying to be friendly. Holding the door open.”

“You needn’t have bothered.”

“I can see that now.”

“And…?”

I was just in the mood today for an argument, and it didn’t really matter how far I went or how near to my face his was, I wasn’t going to be wrong. I didn’t want to use any violence, and I didn’t think it would come to that, but I wasn’t going to take any abuse from a thug like him. Shaved head or otherwise.

He thrust his hands into his pockets. They didn’t look deep enough to hold anything dangerous.

I was on my way to a friend’s book launch so didn’t really have much time to spare but didn’t want to leave. But he was ignoring me and looking in the opposite direction. I followed his gaze and my heart nearly stopped when I saw who he was waiting for; a girl slightly older than him with an award-winning smile and a figure to die for.

***

Photography courtesy of morguefile.com.

You can sign up to receive these blog posts daily or weekly so you don’t miss anything. You can contact me and find me on the internetview my Books (including my debut novel!) and I also have a blog creation / maintenance service especially for, but not limited to, writers. If you like this blog, you can help me keep it running by donating and choose an optional free eBook.

For writers / readers willing to give feedback and / or writers wanting feedback, take a look at this blog’s Feedback page.

As I post an interview a day (amongst other things) I can’t unfortunately review books but I have a list of those who do, and a feature called ‘Short Story Saturdays’ where I review stories of up to 2,500 words. Alternatively if you have a short story or self-contained novel extract / short chapter (ideally up to 1000 words) that you’d like critiqued and don’t mind me posting it online in my new Red Pen Critique Sunday night posts, then do email me. I am now also looking for flash fiction (<1000 words) for Flash Fiction Fridays and poetry for Post-weekend Poetry.

