Stage left, Henry!

“Stage left, Henry!”

“Over here?”

“No, left!”

“Your left or my left?”

“There is only one stage left… like starboard and port.”

“I thought it was port and starboard.”

“Whatever, Henry.”

“Not that I remember which is which of those.”

“It doesn’t matter. Just put the tree ten feet or so to your left.”

“As I face the front or…”

“As you are now. Move… the… tree…”

“I hear you.”

“OK. Now when Romeo comes towards the balcony…”

“Balcony?”

“Yes, Henry… the balcony.”

“But I thought we were setting up for the final scene.”

“Why would we want a tree for the death scene?”

“I did wonder.”

“Then why didn’t you say anything?”

“I don’t know.”

“No, Henry… balcony, foliage, so Romeo can climb…”

“Climb?”

“Do you know this play at all?”

“Of course. It was one of our school projects.”

“Project?”

“To design the set, yes, then photograph it. I still have them somewhere… the photos, not the set… obviously.”

“Obviously. Now, so we’re on the same page…”

“Page? They’ve given you a script?”

“No, Henry. It’s just a saying.”

“What do we need for the death scene?”

“What?”

“You know, the end… when they die.”

“I do know, but why are you asking?”

“I like to be sure. Balcony, foliage, tree… we’ve got those.”

“We have. Alright then… the marble bench, a gun and the poison.”

“And the dagger.”

“Dagger?”

“Doesn’t one of them…”

“You’re thinking of Macbeth.”

“But when Juliet discovers Romeo she thinks he’s dead and…”

“This is am dram Henry. We’re doing the film version not Will’s.”

***

Photography courtesy of morguefile.com.

You can sign up to receive these blog posts daily or weekly so you don’t miss anything. You can contact me and find me on the internetview my Books (including my debut novel!) and I also have a blog creation / maintenance service especially for, but not limited to, writers. If you like this blog, you can help me keep it running by donating and choose an optional free eBook.

For writers / readers willing to give feedback and / or writers wanting feedback, take a look at this blog’s Feedback page.

As I post an interview a day (amongst other things) I can’t unfortunately review books but I have a list of those who do, and a feature called ‘Short Story Saturdays’ where I review stories of up to 2,500 words. Alternatively if you have a short story or self-contained novel extract / short chapter (ideally up to 1000 words) that you’d like critiqued and don’t mind me posting it online in my new Red Pen Critique Sunday night posts, then do email me. I am now also looking for flash fiction (<1000 words) for Flash Fiction Fridays and poetry for Post-weekend Poetry.

