Hand-painted £2.50

Is it seriously only nine o’clock? Suppose it’s a good thing, still early, could pick up.

Float… bags… plastic sheeting in case it rains… what have I forgotten? Feels like I’ve forgotten something. I should have written a list.

Ooh, that looks nice. Bit big though. No, Suzie, resist. Supposed to be getting rid of things, not…

Hello. Certainly. £2.50. Hand-painted. No, I won’t take a pound.

Some people. If I wanted a pound… cheek.

Sandwiches, that’s what I’ve… now, where…? Kitchen table. No doubt Felix will find it before…

I’m starving. I wonder if there’s a food… ice cream van, that’ll do I suppose. Bit cold for an ice…

Pick it up, go on…

Hand-painted. £2.50.

Be like that then. Miserable…

50p for that. Thank you. Do you need a bag or… no problem, bought loads. Thanks again.

Three for a fiver those, used once and… yes, a fiver. £5. No, I can’t split them, they’re a set.

£12.74? Where did the 4p come from? Bet it should have been…

Yes, very pretty isn’t it. It’s hand-painted. Two-fifty. I know but it’s hand…

There’s no need to be like that.

At least it’s not raining.

No I’m sorry, the sheeting’s not for sale. Oh, plastic bag. Certainly, I’ve got plenty. What was it you wanted to buy? You don’t? I know I said I had plenty but… alright then, you do look rather laden. While you’re here I’ve got a lovely hand-painted… Just the bag, OK. Seeing as you asked so nicely.

50p each or three for a… just the one. Thank you. A twenty-pound note? You’ve got nothing smaller? It’s going to wipe me out but…

That’s £2.50. It’s… Those? £5 for the set… of three, yes.

It’s gone quiet again. Ten thirty. Is that it?

Excuse me, do you think this is it? Sorry? That there’ll be more people only… two o’clock? Really? I thought we could go when we liked. But what if no-one else… Oh I didn’t know that. No, not this one. This is my first actually. Been to a few but just to buy. People can be quite ru… Here? £2.50. Yes, I thought so too but I’ve only had one offer and that was for a pound. I know! You can’t buy an ice cream for that. Mars bars are seventy-something. I remember when they were 10p, although they were smaller. Four chews for a penny too. And it used to be 5p to get in the cinema. Not much change from £10 these days. I know. That’s why I can’t understand why people are quibbling so much. Looks like you have a customer. Nice chatting with…

The three for five… great! Thank you. I’ll wrap… That one’s two-fifty. I could, I suppose, come down a little seeing as you’re having… it’s hand-painted though.

***

Photography courtesy of morguefile.com.

You can sign up to receive these blog posts daily or weekly so you don’t miss anything. You can contact me and find me on the internetview my Books (including my debut novel!) and I also have a blog creation / maintenance service especially for, but not limited to, writers. If you like this blog, you can help me keep it running by donating and choose an optional free eBook.

For writers / readers willing to give feedback and / or writers wanting feedback, take a look at this blog’s Feedback page.

As I post an interview a day (amongst other things) I can’t unfortunately review books but I have a list of those who do, and a feature called ‘Short Story Saturdays’ where I review stories of up to 2,500 words. Alternatively if you have a short story or self-contained novel extract / short chapter (ideally up to 1000 words) that you’d like critiqued and don’t mind me posting it online in my new Red Pen Critique Sunday night posts, then do email me. I am now also looking for flash fiction (<1000 words) for Flash Fiction Fridays and poetry for Post-weekend Poetry.

