Daddy’s girl

You take it all too seriously. Emma tells you often enough but you can’t help but worry. Like a treadmill, she says, it won’t get you anywhere and she’s right but you do it all the same. Worry for two… or three in this case.

It’s usually mothers who worry about their offspring but Suzi’s your first-born and you’ve held her close ever since. Daddy’s girl.

You know she’s played up to you, hoped you’d take her side when her mother had said “no” and you’ve given in more often than not and had grief for it later.

As you pace the hospital corridor, Emma asks you to sit, pats the chair beside her but you need something to do.

“There’ll be news soon,” she soothes and you know she’s right, but time goes slower in situations like this.

You hear crying and you both look at the door watching for it to open. You want to go over to it, open it, see for yourself and the wait’s almost unbearable but you see the handle moving. You step closer and feel Emma beside you as Nick appears, grin on his face, child in his arms and announces a girl.

***

Photography courtesy of morguefile.com.

You can sign up to receive these blog posts daily or weekly so you don’t miss anything. You can contact me and find me on the internetview my Books (including my debut novel!) and I also have a blog creation / maintenance service especially for, but not limited to, writers. If you like this blog, you can help me keep it running by donating and choose an optional free eBook.

For writers / readers willing to give feedback and / or writers wanting feedback, take a look at this blog’s Feedback page.

As I post an interview a day (amongst other things) I can’t unfortunately review books but I have a list of those who do, and a feature called ‘Short Story Saturdays’ where I review stories of up to 2,500 words. Alternatively if you have a short story or self-contained novel extract / short chapter (ideally up to 1000 words) that you’d like critiqued and don’t mind me posting it online in my new Red Pen Critique Sunday night posts, then do email me. I am now also looking for flash fiction (<1000 words) for Flash Fiction Fridays and poetry for Post-weekend Poetry.

