Just a shame they have to die

Watching him as if he has a spring in his step makes me laugh every time. He bounces like… well, like Tigger out of Winnie the Pooh. He gets… that’s my Nick, not Tigger, he gets like this when winter’s gone, or more specifically Christmas. I’m not really a fan either but I don’t like to tell him or we’d sit around moping. As it is, his eyes almost sparkle when I open my presents and he always puts so much effort into them. A ruby ring last time, just because I’d spotted one in a film and said I liked it. The box was from a jeweller miles away so I know he must have spent ages… and he wouldn’t have sent his secretary, Sarah, he’s not one of those bosses. Fitted my finger a treat, snug against my wedding band.

We joke a lot, Nick and I. Makes me laugh just getting milk out the fridge. Gasps when he opens the door as if there’s something shocking inside. I don’t think he’ll ever grow up. But then he’s got something to be happy about. They say my tumour’s shrinking, receding. They said that the last time but it feels different this time.

Everyone’s been so kind, bringing me so many flowers. Just a shame they have to die. Nick never forgets my favourites; gerberas. Different colour every day. I keep saying it’s too much, just a new bunch when the old bunch… but he says it brightens the place up. It does that.

Oh, hello Sarah. How lovely to see you.

***

** NEW!! You can now subscribe to the mixed blog on your Kindle / Kindle app!

See http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B008E88JN0

or http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B008E88JN0 for outside the UK **

You can sign up to receive these blog posts daily or weekly so you don’t miss anything. You can contact me and find me on the internetview my Books (including my debut novel!) and I also have a blog creation / maintenance service especially for, but not limited to, writers.

Unfortunately, as I post an interview a day (amongst other things) I can’t review books but I have a feature called ‘Short Story Saturdays’ where I review stories of up to 2,500 words. Alternatively if you have a short story or self-contained novel extract / short chapter (ideally up to 1000 words) that you’d like critiqued and don’t mind me reading it / talking about and critiquing it (I send you the transcription afterwards so you can use the comments or ignore them) 🙂 on my ‘Bailey’s Writing Tips’ podcast, then do email me. They are fortnightly episodes, usually released on Sundays, interweaving the recordings between the red pen sessions with the hints & tips episodes. I am now also looking for flash fiction (<1000 words) for Flash Fiction Fridays and poetry for Post-weekend Poetry.

