An Alien Hum

Listening to the orchestra, Billy couldn’t quite put his finger on what was wrong, the melody soothing as it was, the violinist perhaps or the cello, both musicians concentrating on the conductor, as Billy usually did, but today he scanned each instrument in turn, knowing the stroke of each note so intimately, Eric Satie’s Gnossiene no. 1 an all-time favourite, though today there was an alien hum, an extra instrument perhaps, but as he looked around he felt a tap on his shoulder and heard his wife, who was swatting away a summer bee from her floral dress, telling him it was time to come into the shade for lunch.

***

So, it was all a dream, usually a no-no in fiction… I think I can be forgiven, just this once?

Photography courtesy of morguefile.com. You can read / download my eBooks and free eShorts at SmashwordsSony Reader StoreBarnes & NobleiTunes BookstoreKobo and Amazon (with more to follow), follow me on Twitter, friend me on Facebook, like me on Facebook, connect with me on LinkedIn, find me on Tumblr, complete my website’s Contact me page or plain and simple, email me. I also now have a new blog creation service especially for, but not limited to, writers.

My main blog is http://morgenbailey.wordpress.com where I am especially looking for flash fiction (<1000 words) for Flash Fiction Fridays and poetry for Post-weekend Poetry.

